Horváth Csaba Memorial Laboratory of Bioseparation Sciences

''Lasciate Ogni Speranza O'voi Che Entrate Senza Risultati''

(Csaba Horváth)

H Cs utolso fenykep v2

Established in 2004 with the help of the Marie Curie Chair grant of the European Commission

Prof. András Guttman, Ph.D.



Head of Laboratory

Academic title(s)

Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

D.Sc. - Microfluidics

Ph.D. - Analytical Biochemisty


Andras Guttman, MTA-Lendület Professor of Translational Glycomics, leads the Horváth Csaba Memorial Laboratory of Bioseparation Sciences (HLBS) at University of Pannonia and Debrecen (Hungary), established with the help of his Marie Curie Chair from the European Commission to pursue basic research in the field of bioseparation sciences. His research interests include the development and implementation of high-performance bioanalytical techniques for proteomics and glycomics based biomarker discovery using single- and multi-dimensional separation methods, including microfluidics endeavors. Prior to establishing HLBS, Dr. Guttman held appointments at Diversa Corporation (San Diego, CA) implementing bioindustrial scale carbohydrate analysis methods; at the Torrey Mesa Research Institute (La Jolla, CA) applying microfluidics methods to large scale genotyping; Genetic BioSystems (San Diego, CA), working on a novel microgel electrophoresis platform; and at Beckman Coulter (Fullerton, CA) developing capillary electrophoresis kits. In his postdoctoral work at the Barnett Institute (Boston, MA), he conducted basic research in the field of capillary gel electrophoresis significantly contributing to the Human Genome Project with his patented replaceable gel formulations. He has more than 354 publications (327 peer reviewed), 36 book chapters, 6 edited books, 32 grants and 25 patents. Professor Guttman is the past president of the Hungarian Chapter of the American Chemical Society, a Board member of the California Association of Separation Scientists, and Editor in Chief for Current Molecular Medicine. Dr. Guttman graduated from the University of Chemical Engineering in Veszprem (Hungary), where he also received his doctoral degree.


In the top 0.5% scientist in the world: LINK

Science MVP Award, Brea, CA, 2019

Molnar Award, Veszprem, Hungary, 2019

Grand Prize of the Swedish Chamber of Commerce, 2017

Dal Nogare Award of The Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley, 2017

Bioprocessing International, Best Technology Award, Boston, MA, USA, 2016

Dennis Gabor Award of the Novofer Foundation, Budapest (Hungary) 2014

Pro Scientia Award, University of Pannonia, Veszprém (Hungary) 2014

Arany János Medal of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, 2014

CASSS CE-Pharm Award, (Washington DC) 2013

Momentum Award of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 2013

Fulbright Foreign Professorship Award of the US State Department, 2012

Award of the Tyrolean Science Foundation (Austria) 2007

Journal of Chromatography Top Cited Award, Elsevier, 2005 and 2006

Szent-Gyorgyi Albert Professorship of the Hungarian Ministry of Education, 2005

Marie Curie Chair Professorship of the European Commission, 2004

Analytical Chemistry Award of the Hungarian Chemical Society, Budapest, 2001

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Publications: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Andras_Guttman